Hannibal NBC TV Show Review – No Spoilers

Hello everyone,

As promised, this is a post merely for fun but I hope you enjoy nonetheless. I will be going back to my book reviews after this post. About a month or two ago, I started watching a psychological thriller/horror show called Hannibal, created by Bryan Fuller, which was canceled in 2015 after running for three seasons. And I went through those three seasons fairly shortly (around two weeks) while juggling school. Now I don’t normally binge watch because I like to preserve the “specialness” of the show but for Hannibal, I tried to take it slow but then I realized I was watching it while doing homework and it basically spilled over into every facet of my life.

You’re probably wondering why I’m going on and on about this show so let me first tell you what it’s about. Going off on the title, Hannibal is the story of Thomas Harris’s character, cannibal Hannibal Lecter (played by the marvelous Mads Mikkelsen) and his relationship with FBI criminal profiler, Will Graham (played by the incredible Hugh Dancy). In this show, as Will Graham is able to re-enact the way a murder has taken place by imagining himself as the killer, this toys with his mind and he is placed under the care of the forensic psychiatrist, Dr. Hannibal Lecter, who helps him process what is going on in his head. If you’re not familiar with Harris’s novels or the Lecter movies, don’t worry, you can start on this show and be completely enthralled all the same (because this was me, don’t kill me).  Now I’d like to argue that this show focuses more on Will Graham as the main character but you could say that Hannibal and Will are both leading protagonists (or antagonists). As for the show itself, I fell completely head-over-heels in love with its cinematography, acting (good God, Mikkelsen and Dancy work so well together), music (suspenseful as hell), and lighting. Since it’s a dark show, the lighting plays an important role in maintaining the overall eerie mood throughout.

There is a warning I would like to provide for those of you reading this. Since there is a fair amount of cannibalism but it is represented as what I like to call “classy cannibalism”, as Hannibal presents his dishes (of people) in such a way that Chef Gordon Ramsey would be pleased, there is that, so if you are uncomfortable with that, do not watch this show. Moreover, there is a large amount of gore in this show which I thought I could not take (I’ll admit, a few scenes I had to look away) but I was surprised when I could watch it (is Hannibal influencing me??) but there is a lot of blood, people getting impaled on things, ripped flesh, organs, etc. throughout the seasons, so viewer discretion is advised but don’t say I didn’t warn you!

While watching the show, I described it to my friends as “American Horror Story meets BBC Sherlock” and for a while it stuck true to this but as I kept watching the show, I realized that Hannibal became something completely of it’s own to me. I think as people we like to compare things and compartmentalize things and Hannibal was no exception for me but after finishing the third season and crying because it was over (although there might be something for us Fannibals in August, I’ve heard), I realized that Hannibal has truly carried it’s own for a show that is based on a series of novels and movies.  And what surprised me even more was that not a lot of people have watched it. And I know there’s a bunch of sick freaks out there like me who like watching dark shows such as these (where are y’all?). Sure it’s about cannibalism but there’s so much more, the characters are enticing, the cat-and-mouse game is fascinating and just seeing these characters evolve and gain a sense of who they really are is amazing! So please, if you’re okay with all the main trigger warnings I’ve laid out, give this show a shot, even from the first episode, you’ll be under its influence. The trailer for the first season is found below!

Rating: 10/10. Definitely a show I’ll watch time and time again.

 

Leave a Reply

