Perseverance

Branching off from my last post, I have been resting and finally taking the time to take care of myself and I’ve also been thinking about everything a person can go through within a year. As I hope you already know, life is simply unpredictable. Things happen, some things you never want to repeat and others, you wish you can rewind time just to relish the moment. And of course, sometimes, life is agonizing to go through. 2015 was one hell of a year for me. There was a lot that had happened and a lot that God took me through and I am grateful to have made it this far.

Many people could look at your life and let’s just assume you appear to have everything under control and that every part of your life is good but they don’t know what it took to get you to that place. They don’t know how many sleepless nights you had because you couldn’t go to sleep due to fear of the future, or that time you had a panic attack in public and tried your best to keep your chill, or how about when your heart completely shattered as you listened to your friend crying over the phone due to some douchebag breaking her heart. I’ll just say this… Life is an arduous journey but at the same time, it is a wonderful experience. However, what gets us through life? In my opinion, it’s love and perseverance. There have been many times in my life where I would look ahead to dreams, aspirations, visions, etc. and then I would see where I am now and scoff at myself, you’ll never be able to make it. See, it’s so easy to encourage friends and neglect yourself. It’s so easy to say to your friends, “YOU GOT DIS” but when it comes to yourself, you see nothing but failures. Well, I’m here to tell you that life is full of failures but it’s important to love and give grace to yourself especially when you fail. Your willingness to simply say “YES” to whatever life has for you and to do your best at it is what will allow you to succeed. And in that place, you persevere. I will not lie to you and say that it’s easy but I’ll be honest and say that it’s a long and exhausting process but the reward is worth it.

My advice if you’re just starting out or if you want to make this your New Year’s Resolution:

  1. Find your purpose. Find the purpose to do even the most mundane things, find the true purpose of why you go to school, why you work, don’t settle for answers like: “To earn money or to get a good job”. Find YOUR purpose.
  2. Find your definition of success.
  3. Work hard but reward yourself from time to time.
  4. Have grace on yourself when you mess up.
  5. When things get overwhelming, take a break and don’t forget to breathe.
  6. Slow down and spend time on things that really matter.

We’re beginning a new year guys. YOU GOT DIS! I hope you all have an amazing Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

