Thanksgiving

For one of my classes, I had to write a list of thirty-five things I am thankful for and while it may seem like a bit of a daunting task, it wasn’t really. I thought about questions like what makes life worth living and it reminded me of that scene in the movie and book The Giver where all the memories return to the citizens and they see the tragedy and beauty of life. So with these things in mind, I started writing. While most kids wrote basic things like family, friends, money, etc. I did include those things but I also included things like air, time, colors, personalities, imagination, opposition, emotions, the ability to love and be loved in return, etc. So I would like to turn the same assignment over to you. Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is over the course of a week, find five things each day that you are thankful for. In total, you will have thirty-five things you are grateful for and reflect upon them. And if you need help, just think about what makes life worth living, why do you live? You’ll find that the answers come up quickly. If you can’t think of anything, I’d advise you to look around you, look inside you and look at the many amazing qualities you possess.

“Look around, look around at how lucky we are to be alive right now” – Hamilton: The Schuyler Sisters (as you can see Hamilton is slowly consuming my life)

Thanks for reading 🙂

(skip to 4:00 on The Giver scene)

Leave a Reply

